Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag || PLUS EXCITING NEWS!

It has indeed been a while since I’ve done a tag, almost eight months to be exact??? BUT THIS IS A TAG I HAVE BEEN WAITING TO DO FOR THE LONGEST TIME.

We’re already halfway through 2022 which is INSANE to believe, and you know what’s even crazier?

*drumroll please*

SUHANI CREATED A BOOKSTAGRAM ACCOUNT!!

YUP YUP YUP I AM NOT JOKING. After months of persuading the parents, and months of getting persuaded by friends- I finally caved in and created one! And oh boy I have no clue how in the world this app works??? Even though I’m a part of the tech-savvy generation (oOh gEn Z) I actually have no clue how social media operates. heck, I’ve had Goodreads for almost a year and it still makes NO SENSE TO ME??? WHY IS IT SO DIFFICULT TO USE GOODREADS??? PLUS WHY IS THE LAYOUT SO UGLY?? So, anyways I’m counting on all of you Instagramers to teach me the ways of your insanely cool universe. Sorry if I’m just awkward and weird at the beginning and have no sense of aestheticness in my photos, let’s just pray it gets better as time progresses😭 My username is startouchedpages, and I’ve attached the link too if you’d like to check it out!

IN OTHER NEWS- SUMMER BREAK HAS STARTED!!! woohoo!! Even though my main goal is to be a social recluse and stay hidden in the corner of my room this entire break, I’M STILL SO EXCITED!! mangoes, ice cream, AND BOOKS??? what more could I ask for. (Speaking of which I had the most amazing mango milkshake after swim practice, and everything felt so summery- IT WAS PERFECT.) I also need to get on top of my goodreads goal ( fourteen books behind and still slaying ) AND I AM TRYING TO CONVINCE MYSELF IT IS POSSIBLE, after all being alone for 24 hours every day has to benefit me in some way right??

Well after that crazy amount of rambling, we’ve finally reached the main part of this post~ “The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag”, where I rant and rave about my least favorite and favorite reads of the year so far!

Best book you’ve read so far in 2022?

THIS IS SUCH A DIFFICULT ONE??? HOW DOES ONE DECIDE??? *but ahem I do have a bookstagram post about it if you’d like to check it out ahem*

If I had to choose just one though ( who makes these rules ugh )I think I’d have to go with Our Violent Ends! Maybe it’s due to the fact that I just read this and am REELING after that ending, or perhaps because of my love for Celia and Juliette, but it truly was an astounding read! Going back to the rich, luscious world of Shanghai in the 1900s, and seeing all the action and plot twists unfold right beneath our noses simply made me fall in love with this book!

Best sequel you’ve read in 2022?

Ah yes, how could I choose anything but the iconic wicked king for this prompt?? Arguably the best book in this series ( no you cannot disagree this is the superior one from the trilogy ) with excessive Jurdan content, an enticing plot, plus the angst??? It blew my expectations out of the water. I grew to love Jude a lot more in this book, AND THE BANTER OH GOSH I LOVE IT! maybe I’ll write a full review for this series if I can ever fully comprehend my thoughts( it’s been five months and I’m still trying) but needless to say, it was SO GOOD, AND GO READ THIS IF YOU HAVEN’T YET!

New release you haven’t read yet, but you want to

AH, THERE ARE SO MANY GOOD BOOKS GETTING RELEASED THIS YEAR! I’m never ever up to date with new releases agh, I usually get to them like three years after they’re published, but I mean this year I’m hoping to change that? I’m so so excited to read family of liars because I actually did not hate we were liars like everyone else?? I ENJOYED IT?? *gasp* And even though I don’t really expect this one to be as good as the first book, I’m still looking forward to seeing how it goes!

most anticipated release for the second half of the year

Foul Lady fortune by Chloe Gong! I think this is getting released sometime in September, AND I AM SO EXCITED!! Chloe Gong has quickly climbed the ranks to become one of my favorite authors of all time, AND THIS IS IN ROSALIND’S POV TOO?? * cue the extreme heart palpitations *

biggest disappointment

the fact that I didn’t even have to think about this for a second is a bit concerning isn’t it?? I don’t think I’ve ever been completely let down by a book, and then I read red, white, and royal blue. Now I can rant about this book FOR AGES, but quite frankly I know there’s a hoard of lovers of this book who’ll come at me armed with flaming torches and pitchforks if I rant too much about this, so I’ll try to limit showing my disdain in the next few sentences.

With no plot, bland and boring writing, AND TERRIBLY LONG CHAPTERS, I may or may not have died trying to get through this book. The romance was rushed( why did I think this was a slow burn??) and there was no?? plot?? continuity??

but um I kissed Shara Wheeler COMPLETELY MADE UP FOR THIS MESS OF A BOOK??? I love that book, so I hope I’ve redeemed myself to some extent 🤞

biggest surprise?

Station Eleven By Emily St John Mandel!! I don’t exactly have the most experience in adult fiction (aka zero) but this was a fantastic read!! A post-apocalyptic read which reminded me a bit too much of the past two years, with beautiful prose and well-thought-out characters, this book entertained me through and through!

favorite new author (debut or new to you)

I think my answer for this one would HAVE to be Chloe Gong, but since I’ve already mentioned her way too many times in this post already, I think I’ll have to go with V.E Schwab! The Shades of Magic series is now one of my all-time favorite fantasy series, plus their writing is simply PHENOMENAL! I love the amazing characters she created ( HI LILA AND KELL) PLUS THE WORLDBUILDING?? I plan on reading their other books too, and being the leader of a V.E Schwab fan club very soon.

newest favorite character

Gansey from The Raven Boys!! Even though I haven’t finished the series, Gansey is SUCH A FUN CHARACTER!! he’s smart, calculating, and actually empathetic when he needs to be, plus the bond he has with Blue and the other Raven Boys is so heartwarming!! A very sarcastic and lovable character, he simply has all my heart!

(ps. all credits for the fanart go to the creator of the artwork! )

a book that made you cry

the answer for this one is VERY VERY obvious, isn’t it? yup, that’s right- the song of achilles made me tear up like a little baby ! Even though I was well aware of the myth before reading this story, the way Madeline Miller articulated Patroculus’ thoughts about Achilles was simply heartbreaking to read, and the writing just makes you feel all sad and blue inside akjsiwioywg. I basically could not think straight for three days after reading this, and it’s one of my favorite books I read this year!

book that made you happy

Simon vs the homo-sapiens agenda by Becky Albertalli! THIS WAS SO CUTE! it gave me all the fluffy feelings, and I adore all the characters so much! Everything about this book was so pleasant, and the hilarious, and slightly emotionally unstable characters were a wonderful plus side!

favorite book-to-film adaptation

look is heartstopper a movie? no. Am I still going to consider it? YESSSS. I think I’ve done more than enough screaming in my last post about it, BUT IF YOU HAVEN’T WATCHED IT ALREADY GO DO SO NOW!! pretty aesthetic scenes + a perfect cast = AN ACCURATE TV ADAPTATION

most beautiful book you’ve bought this year

King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo!

I LOVE how the naked hardback looks, the gold foiling, and intricate designs are seriously SO PRETTY?? OBSESSED! 😭

book you need to read by the end of the year

I have SO SO MANY !! As a staple of every bookworm my never-ending tbr has actually become never-ending now, and well I’m a bit concerned for myself now.. But one book which I HAVE to read somehow by the end of this year is Jade Fire Gold !! After hearing more than stellar things about this book, I AM DYING TO GET TO THIS!! And the cover is SO PRETTY?? Plus the synopsis sounds wonderful AHHHHHH I NEED THIS!

What are a few of your favorite books of the year??? Any disappointing reads?? NEW RELEASE YOU’RE EXCITED FOR??? Also, what’s your insta handle if you have one?? I’d love to follow you ❤

AND THAT’S A WRAP! SUHANI HAS ACTUALLY FINISHED A POST ON TIME!!! WOOHOO!! I hope you all enjoyed this post, and thank you for reading!!

bYeEEEe

80 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag || PLUS EXCITING NEWS!

  1. Aah I need to read These Violent Delights and The Raven Boys!!! Also,YES The Wicked King is superior. The Song of Achilles destroyed me. I read it a year ago and I’m still sad

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with you on The Song of Achilles!! That book broke my heart to pieces 😭 But luckily after that I ended up watching the heartstopper adaptation and all was good💕 (Did not expect to love it as much as I did!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Imo heart stopper is the perfect example for a book-to-show adaptation done RIGHT!! It deserves all the love it gets.
    I agree that the cover for jade fire gold looks beautiful, as well as the cover for king of scars!! The ending for our violent ends left me in shock even though I knew exactly how it would end (it is a retelling of romeo and Juliette after all.)
    Hope you have a happy and healthy second half of 2022!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. omg YES we stan miss chloe gong even though she kills us everytime she writes <33 i didn't LOVE jade fire gold because i think my expectations were too high but it was still a really good book so i hope you love it too!! have an amazing second half of the year 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Omg Our Violent Ends sounds so amazing?!! Yesss The Wicked King is the best book in that entire trilogy and that’s simply a fact. Time to go add even more books to my abysmally long to be read! This was wonderful!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment